,  |  2014年01月24日

Kent & Curwen 2014年百周年纪念短途杯,英国足球传奇人物迈克尔.欧文于沙田马场首次亮相

2014126日,星期日–英国著名高级男士服装品牌Kent & Curwen连续第五年假沙田马场举办Kent & Curwen年百周年纪念短途杯,以彰显品牌与赛马这种传统皇室运动的密切关系。这次万众期待的社交盛事吸引了多位城中名人出席,当中包括利邦集团高层冯国经博士、冯咏仪小姐、利邦集团董事总经理王日明先生、李桂兰女士、王敏德先生、董建成伉俪及霍启山先生。
是次杯赛活动向英国文化及赛马运动致敬,同时藉此机会隆重介绍全新品牌大使——英国足球传奇人物迈克尔.欧文。欧文自少对赛马非常热爱,其投入程度更随年月增加。现时,欧文于英国柴郡合资持有名为「Manor House Stables」的马房,专门培养纯种竞赛马匹。当日,与欧文一同出席及支持赛事的还有担任品牌大使多年的著名歌手、演员及马主郭富城,是品牌历年来第一次邀请到两位分别代表品牌运动传统的世界体坛巨星及被誉为香港乐坛「四大天王」之一的演艺巨星同时出席赛事,更显是次杯赛的重要。两位大使与在场230多位城中名人共渡一个充满刺激赛事的周日下午, 体验英国文化气息。
席间,Kent & Curwen品牌董事总经理Ms. Carissa Fortino欢迎米高欧文,并赠予一幅传统中国骏马图给欧文作纪念。骏马图由中国著名国画家田书翰先生利用中国彩墨绘画于宣纸上,细腻笔触将骏马的活力神态描绘得栩栩如生,更亲笔提字寄语,签名盖章后送予奥云。收到赠画的欧文表达兴奋的心情,并表达画作与他于英国开设的「Manor House Stables」马房十分配合。
作为赛马季度的重点赛事之一,Kent & Curwen百周年纪念短途杯向来以精彩的一级赛事和娱乐节目见称,今年的赛事亦不例外。Kent & Curwen百周年纪念短途杯这项1000米香港一级赛事的奖金定为600万港元,并作为香港速度系列(前称香港短途锦标系列)的首关赛事。一如以往,今年的赛事午宴于沙田马场的马会厢房举行,场地布置以当代的英式男士俱乐部为主题,设有威士忌及雪茄吧、擦鞋工匠提供擦鞋服务,还有自助照相亭供贵宾使用。
除此之外,贵宾们亦可观赏Kent & Curwen 2014秋冬系列新装的时装表演,率先预览新上任创意总监Simon Spurr的设计及未来时装趋势。拥有17年男士时装设计经验的著名英国设计师Simon Spurr,于加入Kent & Curwen前曾于2006年推出以自己命名的时装品牌SIMON SPURR。他以简洁与自信的设计见称,加上其英国成长的背境和扎实功力,将设计重点表现在质量、颜色、比例及含蓄的细节上,所以其设计被誉为与Savile Row的细致并驾齐驱,实在是为Kent & Curwen设计团队领航的不二人选。模特儿在赛事之间于马会厢房内作表演示范,优雅的服装令场内贵宾发出赞赏之声。
全新的2014秋冬系列以Kent & Curwen男士的生活衣橱为蓝本并加入现代化元素,这系列既重塑了品牌的英式传统设计,亦同时展示了大胆创新的设计美学,让Kent & Curwen新一季的男士服饰更富品味及时代感。由品牌富饶的传统及运动渊源中撷取灵感,经典棉质珠地马球恤的针织图案(pique polo weave)按比例地放大,成为系列的点题图案。无论是几何六角形图案的印花衬衣及小皮具,又或是以六角形图案缝线橺棉皮衣(hexagonal quilted leather jackets),皆是极富男性魅力及时尚氛围。系列中令宾客留下深刻印象的还包括优质布料,如富现代感的灰色羊毛真丝混纺粗花呢(wool silk blended tweeds)及以激光切割法兰绒(laser cut flannel)套装,印上赛艇服装常见的阔条纹(regatta stripes),是对品牌在缝制领带这项传统的一份致敬。一系列出乎意料的抢眼色彩如米白色、榄绿色、深橙色、黄色、青绿色、铁蓝色、灰色,军蓝色、板球酒红色、黑白色以及代表品牌的草场绿色等等,令整个系列融合顶级男装、体育运动及英式绅士多个元素。
一场精彩的Kent & Curwen百周年纪念短途杯赛事过后,Kent & Curwen品牌大使郭富城先生及迈克尔.欧文联同品牌代表冯国经博士及夫人、利邦控股有限公司集团董事总经理王日明先生以及冯咏仪小姐一同将纪念品颁予胜出头马「崇山宝」之马主洪金宝先生、练马师姚本辉及骑师莫雷拉。

,  |  24 January 2014

Kent & Curwen Centenary Sprint Cup 2014: English Football Legend Michael Owen Debuts at Sha Tin Racecourse

Sunday, January 26, 2014 – British luxury menswear brand Kent & Curwen once again reinforced their association with the royal sport of horseracing by holding the Kent & Curwen Centenary Sprint Cup 2014 at the Hong Kong Jockey Club Sha Tin Racecourse. Illustrious attendees at the much anticipated social event included eminent guests, VIPs and leaders of industries, such as Dr. Victor Fung, Chairman of Trinity Limited, Ms. Sabrina Fung, Executive Director of Trinity Limited, Mr. Sunny Wong, Group Managing Director, Ms. Olivia Davies, Mr. Michael Wong, Mr. & Mrs. CC Tung and Mr. Eric Fok.
The prestigious event celebrated Kent & Curwen’s British heritage and sporting tradition by introducing the brand’s newly appointed Brand Ambassador and English football legend Michael Owen. Owen’s interest towards horse-racing began when he was very young and that passion has grown over time. He is now the proud co-owner of Manor House Stables, a thoroughbred horse racing complex in England. Michael Owen was joined by longtime brand ambassador and celebrated entertainer Aaron Kwok. This marks the first time in Kent & Curwen’s history that a worldwide sports star that reinforces their sporting legacy united with an Asian entertainer hailed as one of the “Four Heavenly Kings”, making this a special occasion. The two stars were joined by 230 esteemed guests for a Sunday afternoon filled with exciting races while embracing British luxury and sports heritage.
Paying tribute to this special occasion, Ms. Carissa Fortino, Managing Director of Kent & Curwen, welcomed Michael Owen by presenting him with a Chinese painting depicting a frolicking thoroughbred. Painted by celebrated Chinese artist TianShuhan using Chinese ink, the delicate brushworks accentuate the passionate spirit of the horse. Addressed to Owen and signed by the artist himself, Michael Owen was delighted to receive such a gift and pointed out it would be perfect for his own Manor House Stables.
As one of the premier events of the horse-racing calendar, the Kent & Curwen Centenary Sprint Cup is well-known for its extraordinary lineup of races and entertaining programs, and this year’s event was no different.  The stake for the Kent & Curwen Centenary Sprint Cup 1000m, HK G1 (Group1: term used for the highest level of stakes races and attracts the best horses) was HK$6 million, and was programmed as the first leg of the Hong Kong Speed Series (formerly the Champion Sprint Series). The welcome luncheon was held at the Jockey Club Box, and the iconic room was transformed into a modern British gentlemen’s club, complete with a cognac and cigar bar, shoe grooming station, and a photo booth.
In addition, a model presentation of Kent & Curwen’s Autumn/Winter 2014 Collection meant that guests got a firsthand preview of the upcoming trends designed by the brand’s new Creative Director Simon Spurr. An acclaimed British designer, Spurr brings over 17 years of menswear design experience. Prior to joining Kent & Curwen, he launched his own namesake brand SIMON SPURR in 2006. With a clean and confident design aesthetic informed by both his English upbringing and firmly built framework that emphasizes quality, color, proportion and deliberate subtlety, Spurr’s designs have been touted as comparable to the likes of the sophisticated and precise tailoring of Savile Row, a reputation well-suited for the role overseeing Kent & Curwen’s design direction. Guests murmured in praise as models walked around the Jockey Club Box in between races.

The brand new Autumn Winter 2014 emphasizes the brand’s British heritage while showcasing a bold new aesthetic by modernizing the full lifestyle wardrobe of the Kent & Curwen man. Drawing upon the rich tradition and sporting roots of the brand, the classic pique polo weave was redesigned and created in an oversized proportion, making it a signature pattern of the collection.  Whether executed in geometric hexagonal prints in shirting and small leather goods or as hexagonal quilted leather jackets, the result is masculine and modern. Some of the stand-out pieces that captured guests’ attention were the modern wool silk blended tweeds executed in monochromatic grey, and the laser cut flannel suiting printed with wide regatta stripes that served as a nod to the brand’s tie origins. Pops of colour add an unexpected statement with a colour palette of vicuna, olive green, burnt orange, yellow, turquoise, Prussian blue, grey, navy, ‘cricket ball’ burgundy alongside graphic black and white and the signature Kent & Curwen dark racing green. The result was an incredible blend of first-rate clothing, sporting activities, and gentlemen diversions.

After the exciting Kent & Curwen Centenary Sprint Race, the brand’s ambassador Michael Owen and Aaron Kwok joined Mrs. Julia Fung, Dr. Victor Fung, Ms. Sabrina Fung, Mr. Sunny Wong, Group Managing Director of Trinity Limited and Ms. Carissa Fortino, Brand Managing Director of Kent & Curwen, to present the souvenirs to Mr. Hung Kam Po, owner of the winning horse, Amber Sky.